1984-First Church Woman of the Year Award given

November 11, 1985-Georgia Baptist Women in Ministry was formally organized at Jekyll Island, Georgia, during a lunch meeting at FBC Brunswick. This was in conjunction with the 164th annual session of the Georgia Baptist Convention. Subsequent annual meetings were held in conjunction with the GBC.

1992-Received first scholarship funds.

September 1993-Began the process of incorporation as a non-profit organization with the Georgia Secretary of State's office under the name "Southern Baptist Women in Ministry of Georgia, Inc."

1994-Scholarship first announced.

1995-First scholarship recipient named.

August 1995-First retreat held at Simpsonwood

Spring 1996-Began meeting independently of the Georgia Baptist Convention. Instituted two annual meetings-Fall Retreat and Spring Meeting.

January 1997-Organization name officially changed from "Southern Baptist Women in Ministry of Georgia, Inc." to "Baptist Women in Ministry of Georgia, Inc." (this change was not registered with the Secretary of State's office).

1997-Scholarship named after Sarah Owen Etheridge of Sandersville, GA.

End of 2000-Filed for organization's name change with the Georgia Secretary of State's office.

2000-CBF Foundation and BWIM/GA make official agreement for investment of scholarship funds.

September 12, 2001-Letter received from J. Robert White, Executive Director of the Georgia Baptist Convention, stating that should anything "untoward" occur during the Fall Retreat being held at Norman Park (GBC operated conference center), the meeting would be shut down immediately. As a result, the retreat was moved to FBC Morrow.

September 2005-Name officially changed with the Georgia Secretary of State's office.

BWIM of Georgia Past Presidents

1985-86 Dorothea Gatlin
1986-87 Nancy Sehested
1987-88 Priscilla Tunnell
1998-99 Pearl DuVall
1989-90 Dorothea Gatlin
1990-91 Paula Buford
1991-92 Becky Matheny
1994 Mary Kendrick Moore
1995 Becky Hartzog
1996 Brenda Buckelew
1997-98 Renee Bennett
1998-99 N/A
1999-00 Dorothea Gatlin
2000-01 Ann White Morton
2001-02 Wendy Joyner
2002-03 Carolyn Hale Cubbedge
2003-04 Priscilla Tunnell
2004-05 Rachel Shapard
2005-06 Darlene Flaming
2006-07 Karen Pennings
2007-08 Nikki Hardeman
Renee Bennett
2009-10 Carrie Veal
2010-11 Erin Robinson Hall
2011-12 Lee Sosebee Ritchie
2012-13 Gwen Brown
2013-14 LeAnn Gunter Jones
2015-16 Jen Lyon
2016-17 Amanda Wilson Harper
2017-18 Sarah Murray
2018-19 Jessica Asbell